I'm trying to configure a basic postfix server to allow receipt of email from anywhere to local addresses but not be an open relay.
Current config, seemingly relevant rules:
mydestination = $myhostname, localhost.$mydomain, localhost
mynetworks = 0.0.0.0/0
relay_domains = $mydestination
If I change mynetworks back to 127.0.0.1/8 it doesn't receive external mail.
Leaving relay_domains blank see
I installed postfix on a bare bones Ubuntu Server 12.04 by typing the following in the terminal.
sudo apt-get install postfix
When asked to choose a mail server configuration type, I chose Satellite system. For the System mail name, I entered ww1.example.com and for the SMTP relay host, I selected mail.example.com. Note that I replaced example.com with my own domain.
I am getting relay access denied when I try sending e-mail via out look on my pc using postfix on my vps.
I have a machine I don't want postfix running on and am using sendmail. I modified /etc/mail/sendmail.mc to have this line(hoping it would send mail through that postfix server)...
define(`SMART_HOST', `postfixhost.yyyy.com')dnl
and ran make to regen the sendmail.cf file and checked it and it looks good.
I am running Postfix 2.6.1 on Suse 11.2, and am receiving an error message on my windows machine saying "Recipient address rejected: Relay access denied." If I login to my email on the local machine or via squirrelmail I have no problem sending mail. The output of postconf -n is as follows:
server:~ # postconf -n
alias_maps = hash:/etc/aliases
I have a Plesk 9.5 mail server (cm.snowbarre.co.za) on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS which forwards all SMTP traffic to an anti-spam server cacti.snowbarre.co.za. Many times I see the headers on the anti-spam server to contain from addresses not hosted on the mail server and I have checked and confirmed that my server is not an open relay server. How can a spammer be using my server to relay spam traffic?
I am trying to setup a Postfix server on a Linux box to relay all mail to our Office365 (Exchange, hosted by Microsoft) mail server, but, I keep getting an error regarding the sending address:
BB338140DC1: to= relay=pod51010.outlook.com[157.56.234.118]:587, delay=7.6, delays=0.01/0/2.5/5.1, dsn=5.7.1, status=bounced (host pod51010.outlook.com[157.56.234.118] said: 550 5.7.1 Client does not have p
Dear friends, I have a VPS with multiple domains hosted. Over time I was a problem with shipping to accounts 'hotmail.com'. The solution I found was to hire an SMTP service to relay e. I had to configure Postfix to have some authentication data for each domain.
Since I can't find a solution that works with my config, I lean on you guys to help me out with this.
I've installed postfix and dovecot on a CentOS server. Everything's running well.