1

How to turn off Empathy in GNOME 3 / F17

view story
linux-howto

http://forums.fedoraforum.org – I installed Empathy and set up a couple of my IM accounts. It worked great. However, even when I shut down Empathy, it appears that the GNOME 3 desktop is somehow starting it up again in the background and logging into my IM accounts. I get notifications related to IM, etc. Is there any way short of uninstalling Empathy to actually turn it off and make GNOME 3 not connect to my IM accounts? I'd really like to use it but only when I want to - I don't want GNOME 3 keeping it logged in all the time. Like most of GNOME 3, I find this non-intuitive and just plain baffling. Can anyone enlighten me (HowTos)