6

How to restore files and folders accidentally deleted in Windows Vista or Windows 7

view full story
linux-howto

http://www.liberiangeek.net – Few people actually know that they can restore files and folders that were accidentally deleted in Windows  Vista or Windows  7 by default. If you ever deleted a file or folder and emptied the deleted folder by mistake and thought it was gone, think again, because in Windows Vista and Windows  7, you can restore it with just few clicks   In this short tutorial, I’ll show you how to restore your data you thought were missing and gone after emptying your deleted items folder.   1) First, verify if restore is enabled on your computer. If not, enable it.                          Click Start –> right-click on Computer, then click Properties     2) Then click System protection on the left and continue.       3) Windows Vista users, make sure the box is checked next to the Local Disk (C:). Windows 7 users, it should say On       4) Once you have verified and enable system protection, you’re then ready to restore accidentally deleted files and folders.   5) To restore files or folders that was deleted, you click on the parent folder (folder that had the deleted items) and click Restore previous versions. For instance, in my Documents folder, I deleted stuff, so I am going to restore the contents of my Documents folder.       6) Now you select the date and time of the to restore to. Remember, all the contents in that folder will be overwritten to the date and time you selected. To view the contents before you restore, click the Open button. To restore the contents to a different location, click the Copy button. The restore button will obviously restore and overwrite all contents to the selected date and time.       Windows Vista and Windows 7 by default allow you to do this but do it with care or you might wipe the entire contents of a folder. The best option is to select a previous version and copy it to another location other then where it was originally created. Then move the restored version to where you want it.   That’s all to it. Join the forum discussion on this post — (1) Posts (HowTos)