How do I enable the Indian Rupee sign in Natty?

view full story

http://askubuntu.com – The new Indian Rupee sign, Unicode 20B9, is supposed to have been introduced in Ubuntu 10.10 Maverick. It is already the default currency symbol for the English (India) (en_IN) locale in Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric. However, in Natty the default currency symbol, as displayed in the GNOME Regional Formats window, is still the older generic Rupee sign, Rs, Unicode 20A8. In Character Map I found that Unicode 20B9 is not defined in Natty, even with the latest version of the Ubuntu font. Without this definition, the symbol seems to remain unavailable no matter what the font. Is there any way to enable the (HowTos)