Default disk partitions

view story

http://askubuntu.com – When I installed Ubuntu 12.10, I installed it onto a 500 GB hard drive using the default partitioning. Looking at the hard drive in Disks I see the main partition (/dev/sda1 = 496 GB) and the swap partition (/dev/sda5 = 4.3 GB). I also see another partition (/dev/sda2 = 4.3 GB), which is not mounted. Its type is Extended and its contents are Extended Partition. Here is the output from ls /dev/sda*: /dev/sda /dev/sda1 /dev/sda2 /dev/sda5 Why aren't there partitions 3 & 4? And what is /dev/sda2 for? (HowTos)