CSIRO's Wi-Fi pioneers score European Inventor of the Year award

view full story

http://www.itwire.com – The Australian team credited with inventing a key technology underpinning WiFi - John O'Sullivan, Terry Percival, Graham Daniels, Diethelm Ostry and John Deane - have won the European Patent Office's (EPO) 2012 Inventor Award. {loadposition stuart}According to their award citation: "Their invention made the wireless LAN as fast and powerful as the cabled solutions of the time, and is the basis for the wireless networking technology (Wi-Fi) now used in billions of devices worldwide. O'Sullivan and his team thus ushered in the age of high-speed, always-on wireless connectivity we enjoy today." (IT news)