Change the cursor type system-wide

view story

http://stackoverflow.com – I want to change the cursor type on every opened applications (including the desktop and the panels). I use GNU/Linux and GTK+. Here is my attempt to change the cursor type system-wide: List<weak Gdk.Window> windows = Screen.get_default().get_toplevel_windows(); foreach(Gdk.Window window in windows) { window.set_cursor(new Cursor(CursorType.PIRATE)); } This code only changes the cursor type on my application window. How can I change the cursor type on all applications? Is there a way using GTK+? If no, how can I do this using Xlib? Thanks for your help. (HowTos)